Explore The History Of The Parkette Drive-In In Lexington, KY
The Founder Of The Parkette
Wide Open For A Drive-In
Good Food, Good Price
A Sign For The Times
The Landmark Sign
Parkette Drive-In Historical Facts
Parkette's Famous Fried Chicken used to be called "Kentucky Fried Chicken."
At one time, there were two Parkettes in Lexington. The original, right here on New Circle Road (back then called the Belt Line), and one on Georgetown Road. The Georgetown Road location opened in 1957 but was sold in 1966.
When the Parkette first opened, a giant billboard in the back listed the menu items. The carhops would sit on bleachers outside the restaurant and come right up to the car to take orders.
In its first 40 years (1951-1991), the Parkette sold an estimated 19.2 million "Poor Boys."